Wales Wide Training Bursary 2016

Please find below some extracts from Catrin Wilson’s report following the award of her Bursary earlier in the year….

The Oxford Dictionary defines inspiration as:
“The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative”.

Lisa Dowler and her Small Things Dance Collective, in particular her ‘From Where You Are’ Dance and Health project, centred at Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust was my inspiration for applying for this bursary.

From speaking with Lisa it has been realised that actually nor did she before the work on Alder Hey however, she had worked with children. She reminded me that everyday I work with a variety of different groups, all at different levels of ability and needs and in a variety of spaces which all provide good training for working in hospitals.

Furthermore, Lisa has helped me to  recognise my confidence in inspiring people to move, in shifting moods and yes experience of working in hospitals is beneficial and more so for myself however; I am fully equipped with the transferable skills to be adaptable in this type of setting.

Having one to one meeting with Lisa was brilliant, inspiring and confidence building however, it would not have been possible but for the initial Wales Wide Training Day.

 Many Thanks to all. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

Leave a comment