DUETS Project

cropped-cropped-img_5547.jpg Here’s a selection of comments from Louise Lloyd following her recent completion of the Payul Hamlyn Foundation funded Professional Placement in partnership with Ballet Cymru:

Paul Hamlyn Scholarship: Shadowing the Paul Hamlyn Scholarship sessions has given me the chance to see how children, many with no previous dance experience, can quickly develop their dance skills with only one lesson a week. This insight has made me realise just how beneficial this programme is to such a group, some of whom would otherwise have no opportunity to take dance lessons. I have a better understanding of what is appropriate for students in their first year of receiving ballet and street lessons and one of the most important things I have witnessed is the need and means to energise and engage this group. The relationship I have developed with the students while working closely with them on a weekly basis and as part of their group has helped me to discover ways of encouraging the best out of them. I am truly grateful for the position I’ve held and to have been part of this programme.

IMG_8048

My general experience: My experience of working with different groups within a community dance context has dramatically increased thanks to the possibility for me to have such a diverse programme of shadowing sessions on the Paul Hamlyn Professional Placement scheme. Having witnessed and participated in group sessions for a range of ages and abilities has given me more confidence to be able to approach a variety of different sessions and have a better understanding of how to manage and lead the group. It has also exposed my own strengths, weaknesses and preferences in relation to certain groups, so I have realised which groups I take to more naturally and those which I need to work a little harder to keep control and enjoyment in the session. I am now a lot more relaxed and feel a lot more in command of my own actions and choices within dance sessions.

duets 2

Leave a comment