Rubicon – History

A little while ago while researching the history of the building that is now home to Rubicon, I discovered that under the incarnation of the Casson Theatre, the great British actor Steven Berkoff had performed here.  I wrote to Steven to see if he had any memories – his reply is below:

Steven-Berkoff_2654039b

Metamorphosis 1972
I remember Cardiff quite well really.  I believe we did just under a week there and what a miserable time it was for all of us.  But at least we were touring our own show rather than doing some dreary British play.  I remember most of all that we were found lodging in a CARAVAN, on some dreary site on the edges of Cardiff and never can forget that strange caravan smell of plastic and rotting carpets.  It was cold and dreary and we couldn’t wait to get back to London where we did a season at the Little Hampstead Theatre Club. 

I don’t remember much more that this.  I don’t remember there being much if any contact with the host company which was quite usual in Britain, unlike our experiences abroad where we were welcomed and given hospitality.

Hope this will do and thanks for getting in touch.  Archives are the vital life blood of history.

Steven

 

Leave a comment